
Frequently Asked Questions – Medicaid Assessment for Ground 

Ambulance Transports 

 

What is an EMS ground ambulance provider assessment? 

An EMS provider assessment was created by the 2015 Utah Legislature (S.B. 172) to supply 

State matching funds for enhanced Medicaid reimbursements.  Ground ambulance patient 

transports have been increased from a base rate of $142.72 to $696.00 for a net increase of 

$553.28. 

The assessment is federally required to be broad based, uniformly imposed and have no 

hold harmless provision.  This means it is required to be applied to all EMS ground 

ambulance providers in a standardized and consistent manner.  It also may not be structured 

to ensure all assessed providers do not lose money on the assessment.  

How is the assessment calculated? 

Division shall apply quarterly changes to an “Assessment Rate” based on data submitted 

from the previous calendar year.  The rate is calculated with the following formula for all 

licensed EMS ground ambulance providers: 

The assessment rate (amount for each qualified transport) is the state fund amount required 

for the match divided by the total number of qualified ground ambulance transports for the 

entire state.  The numerator is calculated based on claims paid in a fiscal quarter and also 

includes a $5,000 quarterly administrative fee for the entire program statewide.  The 

denominator is total emergency ground transports from the previous year calendar year (18 

months prior to the end of the fiscal year).  

The assessment amount (amount you will be invoiced) is the rate (as described above) 

multiplied by the number of the provider’s emergency ground transports in the applicable 

calendar year. 

The non-federal portion is the amount required by the State for the matching funds. 

The patient transport numbers are based on those coded as data element is E20_10 with a 

value of 4850 "Treated, Transported by EMS" on your patient care reports submitted to the 

Utah BEMSP. 

For example (all numbers are for illustrative purposes only): 



Total Ground Transports for Prior Calendar Year: 100,000 
Ground Transports for Provider A: 50,000 
Ground Transports for Provider B: 25,000 
Ground Transports for Provider C: 10,000 
Ground Transports for Provider D: 10,000 
Ground Transports for Provider E: 5,000 
 
Prior Quarter Enhanced Rate Net Increase: $5,000,000 
FMAP Rate: 70% State Share Rate: 30% 
State Fund Amount for Quarter: $1,500,000 (5,000,000 X 0.30) 
Quarterly Administrative Fee: $5,000 

Total Amount to Fund: $1,505,000 (1,500,000 + 5,000) 

Assessment Rate: $15.05  (1,505,000 / 100,000) 

Ground Transports for Provider A: 50,000 X 15.05 =  $752,500.00 

Ground Transports for Provider B: 25,000 X 15.05 =  $376,250.00 

Ground Transports for Provider C: 10,000 X 15.05 =  $150,500.00 

Ground Transports for Provider D: 10,000 X 15.05 =  $150,500.00 

Ground Transports for Provider E:   5,000 X 15.05 =  $75,250.00 

Total $1,505,000.00 

What can we expect in upcoming assessment amounts? 

Due to an average lag time of ~71 days for processing claims, the first quarter of 2015 will 

likely have a lower assessment value than will the subsequent quarter assessments.  Please 

budget accordingly. 

When should we expect the invoice? 

The invoice is calculated after the calendar quarter is complete.  The invoice is then created 

and emailed to the provider’s contact.  Under normal conditions, the invoice will be sent 

during the first 2 weeks after the calendar quarter.  The due date for the invoice is 15 

business days after the invoice date. 

Where do I send the payment? 

Make checks payable to: UTAH DEPT OF HEALTH 
Please write the Invoice Number on front of check or money order. 
Send payment to: Department of Health 
 Health Care Financing 
 PO Box 143104 
 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3104 



What do I do if the provider contact changes (Medicaid)? 

Questions about your Medicaid identification number, your Provider’s contact person, 

payments, or reimbursements may be directed to Steven Jones at stjones@utah.gov or by 

phone at 801-538-6862. 

Who can we contact for specific questions about the assessment 

(Medicaid)? 

Questions about your Medicaid identification number, your Provider’s contact person, 

payments, or reimbursements may be directed to Steven Jones at stjones@utah.gov or by 

phone at 801-538-6862. 

Who can we contact for specific questions about transport data 

(EMS)? 

Questions about the patient data and submitted patient care reports may be directed to 

Shari Hunsaker at sharihunsaker@utah.gov or by phone at 801-450-3102. 

Questions about the overall process may be directed to Guy Dansie at gdansie@utah.gov or 

by phone at 801-273-6671. 
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