
                                          2019-2020 School Year 
                              Utah School Registration Immunization Requirements 

Utah State Law requires that all students must submit a completed immunization record to the school BEFORE THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL ATTENDANCE.  THESE 

REQUIREMENTS ARE IN EFFECT FOR THE 2019-2020 SCHOOL YEAR IN ALL UTAH PUBLIC AND PRIVATE SCHOOLS.  A student must have proof of the following 

immunizations for school enrollment or submit one of the three exemptions listed below. 

Preschool   K-4th Grades    5thd-6th Grades       7th---11th Grades    12th Grade 

                          

4 DTP/Dtap/DT 

3 Polio (IPV) 

1 MMR 

• (mumps, measles, 
rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B (HBV) 

2 Hepatitis A (HAV) 

1 Varicella 
(chickenpox) 

• history of disease 

need a document 

signed by a 

health care 

provider  

HIB.. 
• doses adequate 

for age 

Prevnar (Pneumonia)   

• doses adequate 

for age, 

including one 

dose of Prevnar 

13  

 

5 DTP/Dtap/DT/Tdap  

• 4 doses ok if 4th given 

after 4th birthday 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given 

after 7th birthday 

4 Polio (IPV) 

• last dose must be 

given after 4th 

birthday or 5 required 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given 

after 4th birthday 

2 MMR (mumps, measles, rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B (HBV) 

• last dose must be 

given after 6 

months of age or 4 

doses required 

2 Varicella (chickenpox)  
• history of disease need 

a document signed by a 

health care provider  

2 Hepatitis A (HAV) 

 

5 DTP/Dtap/DT/DTP 

• 4 doses ok if 4th given 

after 4th birthday 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given 

after 7th birthday 

4 Polio (IPV) 

• last dose must be given 

after 4th birthday or 5 

required 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given 

after 4th birthday 

2 MMR (mumps, measles, rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B (HBV) 

• last dose must be 

given after 6 months 

of age or 4 doses 

required 

1 Varicella (Chickenpox)  
• history of disease need a 

document signed by a 

health care provider  

2 Hepatitis A (HAV) 

 

5 DTP/Dtap/DT/DTP 

• 4 doses ok if 4th given after 

4th birthday 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given 

after 7th birthday 

1 Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis)  
 

4 Polio (IPV) 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given 

after 4th birthday 

2 MMR (mumps, measles, rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B (HBV) 

• Last dose must be given 

after 6 months of age or 

4 doses required 

2 Varicella (Chickenpox)  
• history of disease need a 

document signed by a health 

care provider  

2 Hepatitis A (HAV) 

1 Meningococcal 

5 DTP/Dtap/DT/DTP 

• 4 doses ok if 4th given 

after 4th birthday 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given 

after 7th birthday 

1 Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis) 

given after age 7 
 

4 Polio (IPV) 

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given 

after 4th birthday 

2 MMR (mumps, measles, rubella) 

3 Hepatitis B (HBV) 

1 Varicella (Chickenpox)  
• history of disease need a 

document signed by a health 

care provider  

• if student is 13 years or 

older when receiving 1st 

dose then 2 doses 

required) 

2 Hepatitis A (HAV) 

(1st dose MMR, Varicella and Hepatitis A must be given AFTER 1st birthday to be valid dose) 

EXEMPTIONS  
PERSONAL  RELIGIOUS  &  MEDICAL 

All new students, students entering Kindergarten and 7th grade the legal guardian must complete an on-line educational module (free of charge) and provide a copy 

of the completed form to the school official. The on-line course can be found at www.immunize-utah.org.  Completion of the on-line educational module can be done 

at the Health Department if you do not have access to a computer.  For a medical exemption, a written note from a licensed health care provider must be provided 

along with a copy of the completed on-line educational module. It should state the physical condition of the student, and why that vaccine would endanger the 

student’s life or health. 
 
Results of a completed TB test (PPD) given in the U.S. within 90 days or results of a chest x-ray taken within the last year must be presented before school attendance begins by all students who have moved in from a foreign country 

(except Canada) or who have been out of the country for 6 months or more.  A TB test given within the last five years is also required for all entering kindergarten who were born in a foreign country (except Canada).  If BCG (a TB 
immunization) was given within the last year, the student must wait one year from the date of the BCG to receive a PPD, but they may attend school during that time period until the PPD can be given.    

 

A child may be allowed to attend school “conditionally” if at least one dose of each required immunization series has been completed and the child is 
       currently on schedule to finish the rest.  The remaining immunizations must be completed on schedule for the child to remain in attendance. 

http://www.immunize-utah.org/

